Pianist Kenny Barron is triple winner in 2015 Jazz Awards

1 photo
Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

NEW YORK (AP) — Pianist Kenny Barron is a triple winner in the 2015 Jazz Awards presented by the Jazz Journalists Association.

Barron topped the balloting in the pianist category, while his duo with bassist Dave Holland won for record of the year ("The Art of Conversation") and top trio or duo.

Two other pianists split the top honors — Jason Moran for musician of the year and Randy Weston for lifetime achievement in jazz.

The other multiple award recipients announced Friday by the JJA were Cecile McLorin Salvant (up-and-coming artist and female singer) and Israel-born Anat Cohen (multi-reeds player and clarinetist).

Other Jazz Award winners include the Wayne Shorter Quartet (midsize ensemble), Arturo O'Farrill's Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra (large ensemble), Gregory Porter (male singer), Christian McBride (bassist) and Chick Corea (keyboards).




Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Most recent Entertainment stories

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the KSL.com Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast