Utah Senate confirms state liquor board nominees

Utah Senate confirms state liquor board nominees

Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) -- The Utah Senate has confirmed Gov. Gary Herbert's two nominees to the state Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control commission.

Richard Sperry and Jeff Wright were confirmed Wednesday.

Sperry is associate vice president for health sciences, academic and clinical affairs, at the University of Utah.

Wright is managing partner and founder of the private investment firm Actium Partners LLC.

Of the three current board members on the five-member panel, one drinks alcohol. Sperry has said he does not drink and Wright has said he drinks socially, meaning the board will remain controlled by teetotalers.


Information from: Deseret News

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Related stories

Most recent Politics stories

Related topics



Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the KSL.com Trending 5.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast