Bass' 'For a Little While' wins $20,000 short-story prize

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

NEW YORK (AP) — A Montana-based short-story author known for his spare prose style has won a $20,000 award.

Rick Bass is this year's winner of the Story Prize for short fiction. The award's presenters cited him Wednesday night for the collection "For a Little While," which judges praised for its "craftsmanship" and the "depth and clarity" of its vision.

The other finalists were Anna Noyes for "Goodnight, Beautiful Women" and Helen Maryles Shankman for "They Were Like Family to Me." Each receives $5,000.

The Story Prize was established in 2004. Previous winners include George Saunders, Edwidge Danticat and Anthony Doerr.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent Entertainment stories

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast