APNewsBreak: Ohio literary peace award to Marilynne Robinson

APNewsBreak: Ohio literary peace award to Marilynne Robinson

1 photo
Save Story

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

CINCINNATI (AP) — Writer Marilynne Robinson has been named the winner of a lifetime achievement award that celebrates the power of literature to foster peace, social justice and global understanding.

Dayton Literary Peace Prize organizers announced Wednesday that Robinson, 72, will receive this year's Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award, named for the late U.S. diplomat who brokered the 1995 Bosnia peace accords reached in Ohio.

Robinson won the Pulitzer Prize in 2005 for "Gilead," the first of a trilogy of Iowa-set novels that includes "Home" and "Lila." Her 1980 book "Housekeeping" explored themes of family and home in a story about two sisters.

The Dayton honor recognizes her overall body of novels and essays for their moving and thoughtful reflections on spirituality, politics, science and modern life.

Sharon Rab, founder and co-chair of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation, praised Robinson's writings on "forgiveness, the sacredness of the human creature, and delight in being alive and experiencing the natural world" in a statement, adding that her works demonstrate "the universal healing power of reconciliation and love."

"I have had the privilege of seeing for myself how books live in the world, how readily they can cross all sorts of borders and boundaries, how important they are in sustaining a human conversation through and despite the frictions that arise among nations, how intensely they can be taken to heart anywhere," Robinson said in a statement.

Among the Idaho native's fans are President Barack Obama, who in 2012 gave her the National Humanities Medal and interviewed Robinson for The New York Review of Books in 2015.

Robinson earlier this year was awarded the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction, a lifetime achievement honor. She will receive the Dayton award Nov. 20.

Previous winners include Studs Terkel, Taylor Branch, Gloria Steinem, and Elie Wiesel, the Nobel Peace Prize winner who died in July.


Online: http://daytonliterarypeaceprize.org


Follow Dan Sewell at http://www.twitter.com/dansewell

For some of his other recent stories: http://bigstory.ap.org/content/dan-sewell

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Most recent Entertainment stories



    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the KSL.com Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast