News / Utah / 

Governor declares agricultural disaster in 5 counties

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

(KSL News) Utah Gov. Jon Huntsman today declared six Utah counties agricultural disaster areas.

The declaration affects farmers and ranchers in Garfield, Millard, Sanpete, Kane, Piute and Box Elder counties who have been hit hard by extreme weather conditions.

Droughts, freezing cold, high winds and fire have caused an estimated $28.7 million in damage.

Most recent Utah stories

Related topics



Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast