Margaret Atwood, Annie Proulx up for women's fiction prize

By The Associated Press | Posted - Mar. 7, 2017 at 5:05 p.m.

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

LONDON (AP) — Margaret Atwood, Annie Proulx and Mary Gaitskill are among North American contenders for the international Women's Prize for Fiction.

Atwood's Shakespeare-inspired "Hag-Seed," Proulx's historical saga "Barkskins" and Gaitskill's horse-centric saga "The Mare" are among 16 finalists announced Wednesday.

The prestigious prize is open to female English-language writers from around the world, and the longlist includes authors from Nigeria, South Africa, Canada, the United States, Britain and Ireland.

Contenders include Nigeria's Ayobami Adebayo for "Stay With Me," Britain's Linda Grant for "The Dark Circle" and Britain's Rose Tremain for "The Gustav Sonata."

The contenders will be whittled down to a shortlist on April 3, and the winner of the 30,000-pound ($37,000) prize will be announced June 7.

The annual award is officially named the Baileys Women's Prize after its sponsor.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast