News / 


Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: 5-6 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.




--------------------- CONGRESS-SENATE

11 a.m. SEN. BROWN, OTHERS - MINIMUM WAGE — Press call with Sen. Sherrod Brown, Michael Reich, Neera Tanden to Discuss How Increasing the Minimum Wage Will Reduce Federal Safety Net Expenditures. DIAL IN INFORMATION: Toll Free: 888-500-6950 Conference ID: 6577615 TO RSVP for the call please contact Katie Peters at 202.741.6285 or Please note, this call will be recorded. By participating in the call, you consent to being recorded.

2:15 p.m. WOMEN'S DAY - MINIMUM WAGE — Sens. Barbara Boxer (D-CA) and Mazie Hirono (D-HI) will join religious leaders, women's advocates, and minimum wage workers at a press conference to urge Republicans to support raising the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour. With Sister Simone Campbell, NETWORK, A National Catholic Social Justice Lobby Executive Director; Reverend Jennifer Butler, Faith in Public Life CEO; Nancy Duff Campbell, National Women's Law Center Co-President; Chris Owens, National Employment Law Project Executive Director; Kathy Saile, Interfaith Worker Justice Board Member; Nyah Potts, Restaurant Worker.

Location: S-120.

Contacts: Rachel Cohen (Sen. Boxer), 202-224-8120

Sabrina Siddiqui (Sen, Hirono), 202-224-9813




10 a.m. — The Senate convenes and proceeds to executive session to consider the nomination of Debo P. Adegbile of New York to be an Assistant Attorney General. NOTE: The Senate will recess from 12:30-2:15 to accommodate the weekly policy lunches.



9:30 a.m. ARMED SERVICES — Meets to receive testimony in review of the Defense Authorization Request for Fiscal Year 2015 and the Future Years Defense Program. Witnesses: Charles T. Hagel, Secretary of Defense; General Martin E. Dempsey, USA, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff.

Location: 216 Hart.

9:30 a.m. HOMELAND SECURITY AND GOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS — Hearings to examine the nominations of L. Reginald Brothers, Jr., of Massachusetts, to be Under Secretary for Science and Technology, and Francis Xavier Taylor, of Maryland, to be Under Secretary for Intelligence and Analysis, both of the Department of Homeland Security.

Location: 342 Dirksen.

10 a.m. APPROPRIATIONS — Subcommittee on Department of Defense hearings to examine national security space launch programs. Witnesses: Cristina Chaplain Director, Acquisition and Sourcing Management, Government Accountability Office; Michael Gass, President and Chief Executive Officer, United Launch Alliance; and Elon Musk, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Designer Space Exploration Technologies

Location: 192 Dirksen.

10 a.m. SMALL BUSINESS AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP — Business meeting to consider the nomination of Maria Contreras-Sweet, of California, to be Administrator of the Small Business Administration.

Location: 428a Russell.

10 a.m. U.S. HELSINKI COMMISSION — U.S. Helsinki Commission to Hold Hearing on Developments in the Western Balkans and Policy Responses. Witnesses: Hoyt Yee, Deputy Assistant Secretary for European and Eurasian Affairs, U.S. Department of State; Tanja Fajon, Member (Slovenia), European Parliament; Kurt Volker, Executive Director, the McCain Institute for International Leadership.

Location: 106 Dirksen.

10 a.m. VETERANS' AFFAIRS — Full committee. 2014 legislative presentation of the Veterans of Foreign Wars. Witnesses: William Thien, Commander In Chief, Veterans of Foreign Wars; Karen Nigara, Chairman, National Legislative Committee, VFW; Raymond Kelley, Director, National Legislative Service, VFW; Robert Wallace, Executive Director, Washington Office, VFW; and William Bradshaw, Director, National Veterans Service, VFW.

Location: Dirksen G50

10:30 a.m. BUDGET — Hearings to examine the President's proposed budget request for fiscal year 2015. Witness: Sylvia Mathews Burwell, Director, Office of Management and Budget.

Location: 608 Dirksen.

10:30 a.m. FINANCE — Hearing to examine the administration's fiscal year 2015 budget. The Committee will hear testimony from Treasury Secretary Jack Lew.

Location: 215 Dirksen.

2:15 p.m. AGING — Hearings to examine income security and the elderly, focusing on securing gains made in the war on poverty. Witnesses: Tricia Neuman, Sc.D, Senior Vice President, The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation; Barbara Bovbjerg, Managing Director, Education Workforce and Income Security, U.S. Government Accountability Office; Joan Entmacher, Vice President and Director of Family Economic Security, National Womens Law Center; Dixie Shaw, Director of Hunger and Relief Services, Catholic Charities Maine.\_securing-gains-made-in-the-war-on-poverty

Location: 562 Dirksen.

2:30 p.m. ARMED SERVICES — Subcommittee on Strategic Forces meets to receive testimony on nuclear forces and policies in review of the Defense Authorization Request for Fiscal Year 2015 and the Future Years Defense Program. Witnesses: M. Elaine Bunn, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense, Nuclear and Missile Defense Policy; Lieutenant General Stephen W. Wilson, USAF, Commander, Air Force Global Strike Command; Major General Garrett Harencak, USAF, Assistant Chief of Staff, Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration; Vice Admiral Terry J. Benedict, USN, Director, Strategic Systems Programs.

Location: 222 Russell.


2:30 p.m. COMMERCE, SCIENCE, AND TRANSPORTATION — Executive Session to consider legislation and nominations. Agenda: 1. S. 1014, Youth Sports Concussion Act; 2. S. 1406, Prevent All Soring Tactics Act (PAST Act); 3. S. 1468, Revitalize American Manufacturing and Innovation Act of 2013; 4. S. 2022, the Forensic Science and Standards Act of 2014; 5. S. 2028, the Sport Fish Restoration and Recreational Boating Safety Act of 2014; 6. S. 2049, Transparency in Assertion of Patents Act; 7. H.R. 2052, Global Investment in American Jobs Act; 8. S._____, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy of Visitors Enhancement Act; 9. Nomination of Kelly R. Welsh to be General Counsel of the United States Department of Commerce; 10. Nomination of Kathryn B. Thomson to be General Counsel of the United States Department of Transportation; 11. Nomination of David Arroyo to be a Member of the Board of Directors of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting; 12. Nominations for Promotion in the United States Coast Guard.

Location: 253 Russell.

Notes: Rescheduled for March 12 at 2:30 p.m.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent News stories

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast