Logan and St. George Now Considered Metro Areas

Logan and St. George Now Considered Metro Areas

Save Story
Leer en espaƱol

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

(Salt Lake City-AP) -- They might not be New York City, but Logan and Saint George are now considered metropolitan areas by the federal government.

The distinction is part of a regular assessment the Office of Management and Budget takes to identify cities with large populations surrounded by communities wedded to them economically and socially.

Ogden, Salt Lake City and Provo-Orem make up Utah's three previous metro areas.

Slightly revised standards at the federal level allowed Logan and Saint George to join the metro ranks.

These standards no longer require an urban core of 50-thousand people and a total metropolitan population of 100-thousand or more.

(Copyright 2003 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Most recent Utah stories

Related topics



Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the KSL.com Trending 5.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast