BYU's Hall named to 2009 Davey O'Brien Award watch list

BYU's Hall named to 2009 Davey O'Brien Award watch list

Save Story

Estimated read time: 7-8 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

PROVO - BYU senior quarterback Max Hall was one of 33 individuals to be selected to compete for the 2009 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the nation's best quarterback in the Football Bowl Subdivision. Candidates for the O'Brien Award were selected by a subset of The O'Brien Selection Committee. The list focuses on a select group of quarterbacks who have demonstrated what members of the Selection Committee have recognized as tremendous preseason talent. The award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field.

Hall, a first-team all-MWC honoree in 2008, passed for league-highs of 3,957 yards and 35 touchdowns last fall, leading the Conference in both categories for the second straight season. His passing and total yardage (4,072) numbers ranked among the top 10 nationally while setting MWC records for a junior signal-caller.

Three former BYU quarterbacks have received the O'Brien Trophy. Ty Detmer was honored as the nation's best quarterback for the 1991 and 1992 seasons, while Jim McMahon and Steve Young earned the 1981 and 1983 awards, respectively.

The O'Brien will follow performances of all FBS quarterbacks until Semifinalists are selected in late October. Semifinalists will be announced October 26; Finalists November 23; and the winner December 10. During all rounds of voting, The O'Brien Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2009 O'Brien winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10. The recipient will be honored February 15, 2010 at the 33rd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

**2009 O'Brien Watch List **
Sam BradfordOklahomaJRBig 12
Jarrett BrownWest VirginiaSRBig East
Daryll ClarkPenn StateSRBig Ten
Jimmy ClausenNotre DameJRIND
Aaron CorpUSCSOPac-10
Robert GriffinBaylorSOBig 12
Matt GrotheSouth FloridaSRBig East
**Max Hall****BYU****SR****MWC**
Tim HillerWestern MichiganSRMAC
Jordan JeffersonLSUSOSEC
Colin KaepernickNevadaJRWAC
Case KeenumHoustonJRC-USA
Dan LeFevourCentral MichiganSRMAC
Jake LockerWashingtonJRPac-10
Ryan MallettArkansasSOSEC
Jeremiah MasoliOregonJRPac-10
Colt McCoyTexasSRBig 12
Kellen MooreBoise StateSOWAC
Josh NesbittGeorgia TechJRACC
Tony PikeCincinnatiSRBig East
Taylor PottsTexas TechJRBig 12
Terrelle PryorOhio StateSOBig Ten
Todd ReesingKansasSRBig 12
Kevin RileyCaliforniaJRPac-10
Zac RobinsonOklahoma StateSRBig 12
Riley SkinnerWake ForestSRACC
Rusty SmithFlorida AtlanticSRSun Belt
Jevan SneadOle MissJRSEC
Tyrod TaylorVirginia TechJRACC
Tim TebowFloridaSRSEC
Adam WeberMinnesotaJRBig Ten
Juice WilliamsIllinoisSRBig Ten
Russell WilsonNorth Carolina StateSOACC

Most recent Utah stories

Related topics

BYU CougarsUtahSports


Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast