Follow along with the 2019 women's World Cup in France

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: 1-2 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SALT LAKE CITY — As the reigning World Cup champions, the United States women's team looks to defend its crown in the 2019 World Cup in France.

The tournament begins on June 7 and will conclude on July 7 as 24 teams from around the world compete for the coveted golden trophy.

Teams from around the globe qualified for the World Cup between April 2017 and Dec. 1, 2018. Europe is heavily represented with nine teams, including host France, and Asia has five qualifying teams.

The U.S. team holds the most women's World Cup titles with three and a perfect record of reaching the final round in all seven World Cup tournaments — three times as the third-place team and once as runner-up in 2011. The U.S. won the first-ever women's World Cup in 1991 with a 2-1 victory over Norway in host country China.

The 2019 edition of the World Cup begins with host country France taking on the Korea Republic at 1 p.m. MDT on FS1. The U.S. team begins play on June 11 at 1 p.m. MDT on FOX.

If you can't view the visualizations below, click here.

Most recent Sports stories

Related topics

SportsReal Salt Lake
Josh is the Sports Director for and beat writer covering University of Utah athletics — primarily football, men’s and women's basketball and gymnastics. He is also an Associated Press Top 25 voter for college football.


From first downs to buzzer beaters, get’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast