Find a list of your saved stories here

Serena Williams wins 4th WTA Player of Year award in a row

Save Story

Save stories to read later

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. (AP) — Serena Williams has won the WTA's Player of the Year award for the fourth consecutive time and seventh overall.

The women's tennis tour announced its annual awards Tuesday.

Williams was ranked No. 1 throughout 2015, going 53-3 with a WTA-high five titles, including three at major tournaments — Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon. Bidding for the Grand Slam, she lost in the semifinals of the U.S. Open to Roberta Vinci.

Her older sister Venus was Comeback Player of the Year.

In other honors voted on by media and fans, Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza were Doubles Team of the Year, and Daria Gavrilova was Newcomer of the Year.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

TennisNational Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast