Sports / Other Sports / 
Merritt beats world champion Van Niekerk to win 400

Merritt beats world champion Van Niekerk to win 400

By Daniella Matar, Associated Press | Posted - Sep. 3, 2015 at 2:50 p.m.

5 photos

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

ZURICH (AP) — LaShawn Merritt edged a thrilling finish in the 400 meters at the Weltklasse Zurich Diamond League meet on Thursday, earning partial revenge for losing to Wayde van Niekerk at the world championships last month.

Merritt won in 44.18 seconds, 0.10 ahead of Grenada's Kirani James — who claimed bronze in Beijing — and 0.17 ahead of Van Niekerk, the South African who left his kick too late.

Merritt, world champ in 2009 and 2013 and Olympic champ in 2008, made a great start, and powered past James after 150 meters.

James' second spot was enough to hand him the Diamond Race season title.

World champion Shelley-Ann Fraser-Pryce was one of 15 others who secured Diamond Race titles after the Jamaican won the 100 in 10.93.

Fraser-Pryce was sporting another new hairstyle after clinching a third world championship with her plaits dyed green and a headband of daisies around her forehead. She was back in long braids, and the result was the same for the sprint supremo, who is unbeaten since May.

She finished half a second ahead of Blessing Okagbare after the Nigerian put on a fantastic performance following the disappointment of her last place in Beijing. American Tori Bowie was again third, 0.13 behind Fraser-Pryce.

There were 18 other individual world champions from Beijing competing in Zurich, although the all-star cast didn't include Usain Bolt or Justin Gatlin.

Without that duo, whose intriguing battle dominated the sprints at the worlds, Alonso Edward of Panama won the 200 in 20.03 to take the Diamond Race title. Edward, who was fourth in Beijing, was 0.17 ahead of Rasheed Dwyer. Anaso Jobodwana was third — just as he was at the worlds — 0.21 behind Edward.

Greg Rutherford added the Diamond League trophy to his Olympic, world, and European titles in the long jump. The Briton jumped 8.32 meters to beat America's Marquis Dendy. Fabrice LaPierre of Australia, runner-up in Beijing, cleared a season's best of 8.27 to finish third.

In another highly competitive event, world champion and double European champion Sergey Shubenkov of Russia won the 110 hurdles in 12.98 seconds. Former world champ David Oliver of the U.S. beat Cuban Orlando Ortega to second place and the Diamond Race title, with both finishing 0.16 behind Shubenkov. Jason Richardson, the 2011 world champion, was sixth.

Ivana Spanovic set a new Serbia record of 7.02 meters to win the long jump. She broke her own record, which she set on her way to claiming bronze in Beijing.

Spanovic again shared the podium with American world champion Tianna Bartoletta and Britain's Shara Proctor. Bartoletta leapt 6.97 to secure the Diamond Race title.

Others to claim Diamond Race trophies were Piotr Malachowski (discus), Mutaz Essa Barshim (high jump), Asbel Kiprop (1,500), Jairus Kipchoge Birech (3,000 steeplechase), Eunice Jepkoech Sum (800), Zuzana Hejnova (400 hurdles), Nikoleta Kiriakopoulou (pole vault), Christina Schwanitz (shot put), Barbora Spotakova (javelin) and Genzebe Dibaba (3,000).

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Daniella Matar


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast