8 recipients awarded Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

NEW YORK (AP) — Eight recipients have been awarded the 2015 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy.

Carnegie Corporation of New York made the announcement Tuesday. The award was established in 2001 to honor individuals "who dedicate private wealth to the public good."

The recipients are:

— Paul Allen, Microsoft co-founder and philanthropist

— Charles Feeney, founder of The Atlantic Philanthropies

— Jeremy and Hanne Grantham, environmental philanthropists

— The Haas family, Pennsylvania philanthropists

— Jon M. Huntsman Sr., a Utah philanthropist and founder of the Huntsman Cancer Institute

— Irwin and Joan Jacobs, San Diego philanthropists

— Brothers Robert and Richard Menschel, New York philanthropists

— David Rubenstein, a culture and education philanthropist

The award had been bestowed every two years but will now be awarded annually.

The recipients will be honored Oct. 15.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent Business stories

Related topics

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the KSL.com Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast