Host Saint John wins Memorial Cup junior hockey title

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

SAINT JOHN, New Brunswick — Vincent Sevigny and Cam MacDonald scored early and the host Saint John Sea Dogs won the Memorial Cup, beating the Ontario Hockey League champion Hamilton Bulldogs 6-3 on Wednesday night. Saint John won its second Memorial Cup title in four appearances, rebounding from a first-round loss to Rimouski in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League playofffs. The Sea Dogs also won in 2011 in Mississauga, Ontario. The event features the winners of the three major junior leagues and the host team. Riley Bezeau, William Dufour, Josh Lawrence and Peter Reynolds also scored for Saint John, directed by interim coach Gardiner MacDougall of the University of New Brunswick. Nikolas Hurtubise made 25 saves. Mason McTavish scored twice for Hamilton.

Most recent NHL stories

Related topics

NHLNational Sports
The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast