US extends protection for 6 nations' migrants for a year

Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras (AP) — The U.S. Department of Homeland Security says it's extending temporary protected status coverage for migrants from El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan through Jan. 4, 2021.

The Trump administration has been trying to end TPS for those countries since 2018, but that move has been tied up in court appeals.

The department said Friday the extension was enacted to comply with court injunctions against the move, which it said it's appealing.

Honduras' president says TPS status has allowed over 40,000 Hondurans to live and work in the United States since Hurricane Mitch caused widespread damage in Honduras in 1999.

President Juan Orlando Hernandez wrote in his Twitter account that, "We will continue working to find a permanent and humane solution for out Honduran brothers."

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent World stories

Related topics

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast