US star makes shortlist for rugby's world player award

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

TOKYO (AP) — United States hooker Joe Taufete'e is a surprise inclusion on the six-man shortlist for World Rugby's Player of the Year award for 2019.

Taufete'e became the most prolific try-scorer in international history by a front-row forward, his hat trick against Uruguay in March taking him to 18 in his first 21 in tests — beating the record held by Ireland hooker Keith Wood. He was also the top try-scorer in the Americas Rugby Championship, with six.

Three players who will take the field for the Rugby World Cup final on Saturday, England flanker Tom Curry and South Africans Cheslin Kolbe and Pieter-Steph du Toit, are also up for the award, as are Wales lock Alun Wyn Jones and New Zealand flanker Ardie Savea.

The winner will be announced in Tokyo on Sunday.


More AP Rugby World Cup: and

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

National Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast