Here is the latest SEC sports news from The Associated Press

Save Story

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) — Arkansas senior Maria Fassi won the NCAA title on her home course and gave the Razorbacks a shot at the team title as one of eight teams that advanced to match play. Fassi played bogey-free at Blessing Golf Club for a 5-under 68, giving her a four-shot victory over Sierra Brooks of Florida. Texas earned the top seed for team play. The other teams that advanced were Duke, Southern Cal, Wake Forest, Arizona, Stanford and Auburn.

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — LSU coach Will Wade says highly rated power forward Trendon Watford has signed to play for the Tigers. The 6-foot-9 Watford has been playing for Mountain Brook High School in Birmingham, Alabama. Last season he averaged 23.7 points, 11.8 rebounds and 2.5 blocks. Watford is rated among the country's top 20 prospects by several national recruiting services.

UNDATED (AP) — Vanderbilt's blazing second half of the season has made the Commodores one of the favorites to win the Southeastern Conference tournament in Hoover, Alabama, this week. The Commodores won 14 of their final 15 league games to capture their first SEC regular-season title since 2013. Vanderbilt is the top seed in the tournament, followed by Arkansas, Georgia and Mississippi State. Play begins Tuesday.

HOOVER, Ala. (AP) — Vanderbilt's JJ Bleday has been named the Southeastern Conference player of the year and Tim Corbin has been selected the coach of the year. Mississippi State has the league's pitcher of the year in Ethan Small and freshman of the year in JT Ginn. Tennessee's Garrett Stallings is scholar-athlete of the year.

UNDATED (AP) — Automatic bids for the NCAA Tournament are on the line in 25 conference tournaments this week. The top seeds are Louisville in the Atlantic Coast Conference, Indiana in the Big Ten, Texas Tech in the Big 12 and Vanderbilt in the Southeastern Conference. The 16 NCAA regional hosts will be named Sunday and the rest of the 64-team field will be announced next Monday.

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Mississippi State outfielder Jake Mangum has won the Ferriss Trophy after a dominant regular season at the top of the Bulldogs' lineup. Mangum is the SEC's all-time hits leader with 370 in his four-year career. He is batting .375 this season with 20 doubles, 21 stolen bases and 18 strikeouts in 253 at-bats. He also won the Ferriss Trophy as a freshman in 2016. The Ferriss is awarded to the top college baseball player in Mississippi.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

National Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast