UCF picked to repeat as American Athletic Conference champs

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

NEWPORT, R.I. (AP) — Central Florida has been picked to repeat as American Athletic Conference champions as a follow-up to its undefeated 2017 season.

The AAC announced the results of its preseason media poll Tuesday before media day and UCF received 19 of a possible 30 votes to win the league title. Memphis drew seven votes as conference champion and was the clear favorite to win the West Division.

South Florida, picked to finish second in the East behind UCF, received three overall first-place votes and Houston had one.

UCF went 13-0 last season, beating Auburn in the Peach Bowl. The school proclaimed the Knights the national champions. This season they bring back star quarterback McKenzie Milton and much of a high-scoring offense, but have a new coach in Josh Heupel.


More AP college football: http://collegefootball.ap.org and http://www.twitter.com/AP\_Top25

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

CollegeNational Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get KSL.com’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast