Akron wins Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

EL PASO, Texas (AP) — Isaiah Johnson had 15 points and 13 boards and Akron beat Maryland-Eastern Shore 76-60 in the Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational championship game on Thursday night.

The Zips (10-3) overcame a slow start in which they trailed UMES (2-12) for the majority of the first 10 minutes. Akron took the lead during a 12-0 run capped at 25-20 on Antino Jackson's tip-in with 6:41 left in the first half.

The Hawks closed within 34-32 on the first basket of the second half, but the Zips had a 12-2 run and later pushed into a double-digit lead for good at 48-38 on Jimond Ivey's layup with 13:23 left.

Ivey and Jackson added 13 points each. Kwan Cheatham Jr. and Tavian Dunn-Martin scored 10 apiece. It was Akron's second championship this season — the Zips also won the Savannah Invitational.

Dontae Caldwell scored 17 and Bakari Copeland 15 to lead UMES.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

CollegeNational Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get KSL.com’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast