News / 

White House honors 4 South Dakota math, science teachers

Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

RAPID CITY, S.D. (AP) — Four South Dakota teachers are among 213 nationwide being recognized by the Obama administration for their efforts in teaching math and sciences.

The White House on Monday announced this year's winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The South Dakota educators receiving the honor are Roby Johnson, science teacher at Holgate Middle School in Aberdeen; Jennifer Fowler, science teacher at South Middle School in Rapid City; and Crystal McMachen and Bjorg Remmers-Seymour, math and science teachers respectively at Rapid City's East Middle School.

Winners represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories and the Defense Department Education Activity schools.

Winners get a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They will be honored in Washington Sept. 8.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent News stories

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast