Finland, Israel, Romania and Turkey to host 2017 Eurobasket

Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

MUNICH (AP) — Finland, Israel, Romania and Turkey will host the European basketball championship in 2017

World governing body FIBA says Turkey will host group games as well as the final knockout rounds in two venues in Istanbul.

Finland, which last hosted Eurobasket in 1967, will host one group in Helsinki, while Israel and Romania will host group games in Tel Aviv and Cluj, respectively.

This year's European basketball championship was the first to be hosted by multiple countries and FIBA says it opted to follow the same path for the 2017 edition due to its "unprecedented success."

Spain defeated Lithuania 80-63 to regain the title in Lille, France in September.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

National Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast