Temple's Tyler Matakevich wins Bednarik Award for defense

Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

ATLANTA (AP) — Tyler Matakevich of Temple has won the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's defensive player of the year.

Matakevich, a linebacker, is the first Temple player to win the award. The award was presented on Thursday night at the College Football Hall of Fame.

It was the second major award for Matakevich. On Monday, he won the Bronko Nagurski Award, also given to the nation's top defensive player.

The 6-foot-1, 232-pound Matakevich had 126 tackles this season, including 15 for loss, along with five interceptions, 4.5 sacks and five pass breakups.

The other finalists were Penn State's Carl Nassib and Alabama's Reggie Ragland.

Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright won the 2014 award.


College Football website: www.collegefootball.ap.org

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

CollegeNational Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get KSL.com’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast