Sports / Other Sports / 
Chicago's Shaw heads puck into net for disallowed goal in OT

Chicago's Shaw heads puck into net for disallowed goal in OT

By The Associated Press | Posted - May 19, 2015 at 11:41 p.m.


1 photo

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

ANAHEIM, Calif. (AP) — Chicago Blackhawks forward Andrew Shaw headed the puck into the net during the second overtime in Game 2 of the Western Conference finals on Tuesday night, but his remarkable goal was illegal.

Shaw thought he had ended the Blackhawks' exhausting meeting with the Anaheim Ducks 8:47 into the second OT when he headed home a looping rebound of Patrick Kane's shot in the crease, bouncing the puck off his helmet in an incredible soccer-style play.

But after a brief consultation, the officials waved off the goal. Rule 38.4 prohibits any goal scored by a player who deliberately bats the puck into the net with any part of his body.

Shaw scored in the first period for the Blackhawks, who were trying to even the series after losing the opener.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Photos

The Associated Press

    SIGN UP FOR THE KSL.COM NEWSLETTER

    Catch up on the top news and features from KSL.com, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast