Associated Press Sports Story of the Year Winners

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

2014 — NFL domestic violence

2013 — Boston Marathon bombing

2012 — Penn State child sex abuse scandal

2011 — Penn State child sex abuse scandal

2010 — Tiger Woods infidelity scandal, loses No. 1 rank

2009 — Baseball steroids

2008 — Michael Phelps wins 8 Olympic gold medals

2007 — Bonds breaks HR record and is later indicted for perjury about drug use

2006 — Tiger Woods wins two majors, six straight tournaments after father dies

2005 — White Sox win World Series

2004 — Red Sox win World Series

2003 — Kobe Bryant charged with sexual assault

2002 — New England Patriots win Super Bowl

2001 — Dale Earnhardt dies at Daytona 500

2000 — Tiger Woods wins 3 Grand Slam events

1999 — U.S. Women's World Cup

1998 — Mark McGwire breaks Maris' HR record

1997 — Tiger Woods win Masters

1996 — Michael Johnson wins 200-400 at Olympics

1995 — Cal Ripken's consecutive games streak

1994 — World Series canceled

1993 — Michael Jordan retires

1992 — Mike Tyson convicted

1991 — Magic Johnson HIV positive

1990 — Buster Douglas beats Mike Tyson

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent NFL stories

Related topics

NFLNational Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast