North Dakota's Teacher of the Year named

Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — North Dakota's 2015 Teacher of the Year is a vocal and classroom music teacher with Wahpeton Public Schools.

Dean Aamodt received the honor Monday during a ceremony attended by Gov. Jack Dalrymple and state Superintendent of Public Instruction Kirsten Baesler.

Aamodt was selected from a pool of four finalists that included Chris Harvey, an instrumental music teacher with Hazen Public School; Dawn Adair Johnson, a reading coach at Prairie View Elementary School in Devils Lake; and Melissa Stanley, an elementary teacher at Edison Elementary School in Minot.

Aamodt has more than 35 years of experience as a teacher. He's been with the district in Wahpeton for the past five years. He teaches women's ensemble, concert choir, show choir and other classes.

The Department of Public Instruction administers the award program.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent U.S. stories

Related topics

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast