News / 

Several incumbents ousted in primary election

Save Story
Leer en espaƱol

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SALT LAKE CITY -- Results are in from Tuesday's primary municipal elections.

Mayors knocked out in primaries included Bluffdale's Claudia Anderson, Cedar Hills' Michael McGee, Lehi's Howard Johnson and Grantsville's Byron Anderson.

Voters also gave the boot to West Valley City Councilman Joel Coleman and Holladay City Councilman Grant Orton.

Dell Schanze came in third in the Saratoga Springs primary, meaning he will not be on the ballot in the fall.

For a more complete listing of the results visit

In Salt Lake County, voter turnout was about 11 percent. County Clerk Sherrie Swensen tells the Deseret News she's disappointed that fewer than 28,000 people there voted Tuesday.

The general municipal elections are in November.

Related links

Most recent News stories


Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast