News / 

Wonders in Zurich

Save Story
Leer en espaƱol

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

The 21 finalists in the New Seven Wonders of the World campaign will be announced Sunday at the Le Corbusier Museum in Zurich. Launched in 2000 by Bernard Weber, the competition aims to draw attention to selected monuments, with half the profits from the voting process being set aside for building restoration and preservation.

More than 19 million votes have been cast worldwide to select the sites that will be named the new wonders of the world. The votes were presented to a panel of architectural experts, led by the former director general of Unesco, Federico Mayor Zaragoza, who have picked out the shortlist of 21 finalists.

Sites under consideration include the Taj Mahal (pictured), the Easter Island statues, the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur, the Statue of Liberty and the Sydney Opera House. The seven winners will be announced on Jan. 1, 2007. See more at

(C) 2005 International Herald Tribune. via ProQuest Information and Learning Company; All Rights Reserved

Most recent News stories


Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast