News / 

Author Dennis Lynds dead at 81

Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SAN FRANCISCO, Aug 25, 2005 (United Press International via COMTEX) -- Mystery novelist Dennis Lynds, creator of the popular Dan Fortune detective series, has died in San Francisco at age 81.

Lynds was on his way to U.C. San Francisco Medical Center Thursday to visit a hospitalized daughter when he collapsed, the Los Angeles Times reported. He died the following day from a bowel infection.

Fellow writer Kathleen Sharp said Lynds recently finished two stories for Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine.

Lynds wrote more than 80 novels and 200 short stories, but was best known for his 20-book series featuring the one-armed detective, Dan Fortune.

Lynds wrote under several pseudonyms including Michael Collins, William Arden, Nick Carter, John Crowe, Carl Dekker, Mark Sadler and -- for the eight mysteries he wrote in "The Shadow" series -- Maxwell Grant, the Times said.

The Private Eye Writers of America gave Lynds a lifetime achievement award in 1988 and he won the Marlowe Award from the Southern California chapter of the Mystery Writers of America in 2003.

Lynds is survived by his wife, Gayle; two daughters and two stepchildren.

Copyright 2005 by United Press International.

Most recent News stories


Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast