Stars advocate for progress at honorary Oscars event

Stars advocate for progress at honorary Oscars event

7 photos
Save Story
Leer en español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Actor Wes Studi and directors Lina Wertmuller and David Lynch are now officially Oscar winners. All three received honorary Oscars at the annual Governors Awards Sunday night in the heart of Hollywood, where Geena Davis was also given the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award.

Stars like Tom Hanks, Sophia Loren, Laura Dern and Christian Bale were on hand to help introduce the four honored guests at the untelevised dinner event, featuring A-list stars at nearly every table.

The Governors Awards also serves as a stop for the casts and filmmakers of awards contenders. This year the crowd included Quentin Tarantino and Leonardo DiCaprio of "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood," Greta Gerwig and Saoirse Ronan of "Little Women," Olivia Wilde and Beanie Feldstein of "Booksmart," and Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson of "Marriage Story."


Follow AP Film Writer Lindsey Bahr on Twitter:

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Most recent U.S. stories

Related topics



    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast