Sports / 

Max Makes the Grade

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

This news came out this afternoon:

FORT WORTH, Texas (October 27, 2008) - The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) today proudly announced its 2008 Semifinalist List. The list highlights 13 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks who will vie for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback until Finalists are announced November 24.

2008 O'Brien Semifinalists


Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

Daryll Clark, Penn State

Chase Daniel, Missouri

Max Hall, BYU

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech

David Johnson, Tulsa

Colt McCoy, Texas

Todd Reesing, Kansas

Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State

Mark Sanchez, USC

Matthew Stafford, Georgia

Tim Tebow, Florida

John Parker Wilson, Alabama


"These candidates represent a high level of talent from coast to coast," said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. "The O'Brien is proud to highlight these young men, not only for their elite quarterback skills, but for their qualities of character and leadership that the award is committed to honoring."

Semifinalists were selected by The O'Brien Selection Committee, comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, as well as fans across the country with the top three quarterbacks from The O'Brien Fan Vote being added to the list. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on his quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership, sportsmanship and reputation as a team player. For a complete listing of O'Brien Selection Committee members, click here.

These 13 Semifinalists will contend for the award until the list is narrowed to three Finalists on November 24. All Finalists will be in attendance in Orlando, Fla., where The O'Brien Winner will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Fans are able to vote for Semifinalist candidates once daily at The voting will continue throughout the Semifinalist and Finalist rounds with 5% of the final tally coming directly from the Fan Vote.

Most recent Sports stories


Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast