Find a list of your saved stories here

East Mississippi wins NJCAA national championship

Save Story

Save stories to read later

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

PERKINSTON, Miss. (AP) — Lindsey Scott Jr. threw two touchdown passes and ran for another score and East Mississippi outlasted Arizona Western 31-28 on Sunday in the Mississippi Bowl to win the National Junior College Athletic Association title.

The Lions (11-1) won their fourth title since 2011.

Arizona Western (9-1) pulled within three with Bryce Perkins' touchdown pass to Dominick Anderson with 1:54 left. East Mississippi recovered the onside kick and ran out the clock.

East Mississippi's Ty Williams scored on a 49-yard interception return in the first quarter. Greg Bell ran for 123 yards and a third-quarter touchdown

Perkins threw for 139 yards and ran for 104.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

CollegeNational Sports
The Associated Press


    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast