Sports / Other Sports / 

SMU sweeps AAC player, coaching awards

By The Associated Press | Posted - Mar. 9, 2017 at 11:50 a.m.

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) — Regular-season champion SMU has swept the major postseason awards in the American Athletic Conference.

Forward Semi Ojeleye and coach Tim Jankovich were named Thursday as the league's player and coach of the year in advance of the conference tournament this weekend. The Mustangs, winners of 13 straight games, will be the top seed.

Ojeleye led No. 12 SMU (27-4) to a 17-1 record in the conference, averaging 18.5 points and 6.5 rebounds a game. He scored in double figures in 30 of the team's 31 games and had 20 or more points on 11 times.

The senior transfer from Duke, who has a 3.6 grade point average, also took home the league's scholar-athlete award.

Jankovich took over as head coach this season after serving as an assistant under Hall of Famer Larry Brown.


For more AP college basketball coverage: and\_Top25

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast