Sports / 

Blaze Pair Earn All-Arena Honors

Blaze Pair Earn All-Arena Honors

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SALT LAKE CITY - The Utah Blaze QB JOE GERMAINE (6-2,238, Ohio State) and WR HUEY WHITTAKER (6-5, 228, South Florida) have earned All-Arena honors for their performances this season by the Arena Football League.

Whittaker earned First Team All-Arena for ending the 2008 regular season with 126 catches for 1,541 yards and 32 touchdowns. Whittaker tied for ninth in the League for receptions (126), sixth in the League for receiving yards (1,541) and tied for 10th in the League for receiving touchdowns (32).

Germaine earned Second Team All-Arena and completed the 2008 regular season atop many of the League's passing statistics. The former Rose Bowl MVP finished second in passing touchdowns (97), second in passing average per game (303.7) and third in pass completions (411).

Germaine, currently in his third season with the Blaze, was re-signed on January 30th in a deal that secures him with the Blaze through 2012. Germaine is the first player in AFL history to ink a five-year contract.



QB Matt D'Orazio - Philadelphia DL Aaron McConnell - Colorado

FB Marlion Jackson - Cleveland DL Colston Weatherington - Dallas

C Will Rabatin - Columbus DL Henry Taylor - New York

OL Phil Bogle - Philadelphia MLB Steve Watson - San Jose

OL Martin Bibla - Philadelphia JLB DeJuan Alfonzo - Chicago

WR Chris Jackson - Philadelphia DB Dennison Robinson - Chicago

WR HUEY WHITTAKER - UTAH DB Marquis Floyd - San Jose

WR T.T. Toliver - Orlando DB Billy Parker - New York

K A.J. Haglund - San Jose



QB JOE GERMAINE - UTAH DL Bryan Save - Philadelphia

FB Brian Johnson - San Jose DL Gabe Nyenhuis - Philadelphia

C Kyle Moore-Brown - Colorado DL Tim McGill - Tampa Bay

OL Howard Duncan - Columbus MLB Duke Pettijohn - Dallas

OL Shane Grice - Georgia JLB Norman LeJeune - New Orleans

WR Otis Amey - Cleveland DB Clevan Thomas - San Jose

WR Kenny Higgins - Grand Rapids DB Eddie Moten - Philadelphia

WR Damian Harrell - Chicago DB Kenny McEntyre - Orlando

K Remy Hamilton - Dallas

The Blaze (6-10), winners of six of their last seven games, earned their first-ever home playoff game with a 62-45 win over the Arizona Rattlers in the final game of the regular season last week. Utah will host the Colorado Crush (6-10) Saturday at 2 p.m. (MT) at EnergySolutions Arena. The game will be televised on ESPN.

Most recent Sports stories

Related topics



Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast