3 Hawaii schools earn Blue Ribbon distinction

Save Story
Leer en Español

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

HONOLULU (AP) — U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan is recognizing three Hawaii schools for academic excellence or for making progress in closing achievement gaps among students.

Haleiwa Elementary, Red Hill Elementary in Honolulu and Ernest Bowen deSilva in Hilo are Hawaii's National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014.

The U.S. Education Department will honor the 287 public and 50 private schools given the distinction nationwide at a ceremony next month in Washington, D.C.

Duncan says the schools fulfill the promise of an American education that all students can succeed no matter where they're from.

The state Department of Education says E.B. deSilva becomes the first neighbor island school to be named a Blue Ribbon School since Holualoa Elementary in Kona in 2008.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent U.S. stories

Related topics

The Associated Press


    Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the KSL.com Trending 5.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast