Siaha Burley Named All-Arena First Team for 2007

Siaha Burley Named All-Arena First Team for 2007

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SALT LAKE CITY - The Arena Football League announced their 2007 All-Arena teams today and Utah Blaze WR SIAHA BURLEY (5-10, 176, Central Florida) was named to the first team following a record-setting season. Burley is also a leading candidate for Offensive Player of the Year honors, which will be announced on Wednesday, July 11.

Burley, who was All-Arena Second Team in 2006, became the first player in United States professional football history to reach 2,000 receiving yards in a single season. The six-year veteran achieved the mark in just 15 games. His record-setting, 2,000-yard ball was sent to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

The 2005 AFLWA Offensive Player of the Year finished the 2007 regular season by shattering league records for receptions (166) and receiving yards (2,129). The previous marks were 154 (Marcus Nash in 2004) and 1,982 (Calvin Schexnayder in 1998), respectively. Burley also finished with 49 receiving touchdowns (No. 2 in AFL).

In his 31 games with the Blaze, Burley has never failed to score a touchdown and record at least three receptions. In 28 of those games, he has recorded multiple touchdowns. Over the last two seasons, Burley has averaged 10 receptions for three touchdowns per game.

With the Dallas Desperados' 77-58 victory over the Colorado Crush on last Monday night, the Utah Blaze (8-8) will travel to play the Los Angeles Avengers (9-7) in the first round of the 2007 Arena Football League Playoffs on Monday, July 2. Kickoff at STAPLES Center is set for 8 p.m. (MT) and will be televised live on ESPN2 and heard on 1280 The Zone.


The Utah Blaze were winners of the 2006 Commissioner's Award, given to the Arena Football League's Organization of the Year, and the Best Support Staff Award. 2008 Season Tickets are now available by logging onto </http:> or by calling (801) 257-3111. The Blaze are owned and operated by the Ken Garff Automotive Group - </http:> .

Most recent Sports stories

Related topics



Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast