News / 

NCAA's top female athlete to be honored in Indianapolis

Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

The 2005 NCAA Woman of the Year Award winner will be named Saturday in Indianapolis from 10 finalists.

The award is given annually to a senior student-athlete who demonstrates exceptional achievement in athletics, academics and community service.

Eligibility requires a varsity letter in an NCAA-sponsored sport and participation in 2004-05. Nominees can be selected from schools in Division I, II and III and must have a minimum 2.5 grade-point average.

The finalists are:

*Deirdre Dlugonski, Penn State, swimming and diving.

*Leah Geib, Delaware, field hockey.

*Lindsay Hagerman, Washington and Lee, tennis.

*Melissa Lehman, Barry University, volleyball.

*Lauryn McCalley, Tennessee, swimming and diving.

*Michelle Reeser, Alabama, gymnastics.

*Richelle Simpson, Nebraska, gymnastics.

*Jennifer Skolaski, Iowa, swimming and diving.

*Alisha Williams, Western State College of Colorado, cross country/track and field.

*Janiva Willis, Winthrop, softball.

To see more of, or to subscribe, go to

© Copyright 2004 USA TODAY, a division of Gannett Co. Inc.

Most recent News stories


Get informative articles and interesting stories delivered to your inbox weekly. Subscribe to the Trending 5.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast