EU sanctions 12 Syrian ministers for rights abuses

By The Associated Press | Posted - Jun. 23, 2014 at 3:20 a.m.

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

BRUSSELS (AP) — The European Union says it is placing sanctions on 12 ministers of the Syrian government because of their responsibility "for serious human rights violations."

The EU said Monday they will be banned from traveling to the 28-nation bloc and will see any assets held there frozen.

The targeting of Cabinet ministers appears to reflect the increasing frustration with the political stalemate in Syria following President Bashar Assad's re-election this month despite the country's three-year civil war.

The ministers' names were not released pending their publication in the EU's legal journal Tuesday.

The new measures bring the number of Syrian officials subject to EU sanctions to 191. In addition, there are sanctions against 53 Syrian entities linked by the EU to Assad's repressive policies, including the central bank.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast