6 page-turners to compliment your favorite TV shows

6 page-turners to compliment your favorite TV shows

(PBS.org/Amazon.com)


6 photos

Estimated read time: 4-5 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SALT LAKE CITY — If you can’t get enough of your favorite television series, this book list is for you.

Do you love the splendor of Edwardian London? There's something you should read. Do you crave more chaos of the zombie apocalypse? There’s a book for that too.

Watch and read — it’s the perfect pairing.

1. "The House at Riverton" by Kate Morton ... for fans of "Downton Abbey"

Grace Bradley, now retired, looks back on her life as a servant at the glittering country estate Riverton House. She lived on the fringe of the Hartford family’s glamorous lives, but one night she witnessed a violent death. The world thinks the young poet shot himself during a big society party, but Grace knows the truth about what happened that night. A vivid, passionate tale as intoxicating as “Downton.”

2. "Warm Bodies" by Isaac Marion ... for fans of "The Walking Dead"

It’s the zombie apocalypse, and things are appropriately awful. But one zombie, named R, rescues a girl — instead of eating her — and falls in love with her. Their unusual love starts to make him human again. This book — which has also been made into a movie — offers the same thrilling mix of horror, action, and emotion that we all love from “The Walking Dead.”

Content note: Zombie gore and violence, foul language, including the occasional F-word, and a few sexual references.

3. "You" by Caroline Kepnes ... for fans of "The Blacklist"

If you love crime/psychological thrillers, such as "The Blacklist," then this terrifying book is for you. Joe works at the local bookstore and when Genevieve walks in he knows they are meant to be together. And he’ll do whatever it takes to make her believe it too. A modern-day stalker tale that exposes just how vulnerable the Internet can make each of us.

Content note: Several crass sexual references, foul language, including frequent F-words, and disturbing subject matter (stalking/violence).

4. "The Turnip Princess and Other Newly Discovered Fairy Tales" by Franz Xaver Von Schonwerth ... for fans of "Once Upon a Time"

If you’re a fan of the fantasy world of fairy tale shows like "Once Upon a Time," pick up this new book. A few years ago, a researcher and writer discovered about 500 lost fairy tales buried in a dusty municipal archives in Germany. A contemporary of the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen, Franz Xaver Von Schonwerth roamed the countryside recording the stories from farmers' dinner tables, wanderers' firesides and rich children's bedsides. Each one is imaginative, romantic and beautiful.

5. "Dark Memories" by Jeffrey S. Savage ... for fans of "Supernatural"

“Dark Memories,” by Utah author Jeffrey S. Savage, is a perfect choice for fans of the long-time television favorite "Supernatural." In the book, tragedy hits a small town in Colorado in 1977 when six children are trapped in a mine; only five are found. In 2011, the police investigate a strange string of murders. Soon the police chief, Cal Hunt, makes the frightening discovery that the victims are the five survivors. It’s riveting, emotional, scary in the best ways, and such a great read.

6. "The Firm" by John Grisham ... for fans of "Suits" and "The Good Wife"

If you can’t get enough of the fast-paced, high-stakes stories of shows like “Suits” and “The Good Wife,” then you’ve got to read the most celebrated legal thriller ever written. “The Firm,” written in 1991, still reigns supreme as the favorite of legal fans. Mitch McDeere graduates from Harvard Law and accepts a high-paying, high-profile job with a big firm. He thinks he’s struck gold, but there’s a lot more going on under the surface of this glamorous firm. It’s whirlwind fast and super intriguing.

What watch-read pairing would you suggest? Share on the comment board.


*

About the Author: Teri Harman -----------------------------

Teri Harman, author and book enthusiast, writes a monthly column for KSL.com and contributes book-related segments to "Studio 5 with Brooke Walker". Her novels "Blood Moon" and "Black Moon" are now available in stores and online. Join in the magic at teriharman.com.*

Photos

Related Links

Related Stories

SIGN UP FOR THE KSL.COM NEWSLETTER

Catch up on the top news and features from KSL.com, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast