Sports / BYU / 

OT Brady Christensen named BYU's 1st first-team All-American by AP since 2001; Oldroyd makes 3rd team

FILE - Brigham Young offensive lineman Brady Christensen (67) is shown in action in the first half during an NCAA college football game against Arizona in Tucson, Ariz., in this Saturday, Sept. 1, 2018, file photo. Christensen was selected to The Associated Press All-America first-team offense, Monday, Dec. 28, 2020. (AP Photo/Rick Scuteri) [Dec-28-2020]

(Rick Scuteri, Associated Press)

8 photos

PROVO — The awards keep piling up for BYU offensive lineman Brady Christensen.

His 6-foot-6, 300-pound frame can bear them.

The left tackle from Bountiful earned Associated Press first-team All-American honors Monday when the list was revealed that highlight six players from top-ranked Alabama and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask.

BYU kicker Jake Oldroyd earned AP third-team honors, becoming the first BYU kicker to make an AP All-American list since Matt Payne in 2004.

Christensen — who also earned All-America honors from USA TODAY Sports, ESPN, CBS Sports, Bleacher Report and Pro Football Focus — is the first AP first-team All-America citation from BYU since Luke Staley in 2001, and the first consensus All-American since tight end Dennis Pitta.

Pitta was a second-team AP pick in 2009.

"Brady is as consistent of a player as I have been around," said BYU offensive coordinator Jeff Grimes, who helped win a national championship at Auburn as an offensive line coach. "I have coached several guys who have been first-round picks and played in the NFL. He is as consistent or more consistent than any of those guys."

Christensen added a second-team All-America selection by the Sporting News on Tuesday, adding a seventh All-American nod to a haul that is, if nothing else, the best postseason awards haul for a BYU player since Pitta's tenure.

Christensen graded out at 95.0 or above in pass protection and run blocking across the 2020 season, according to PFF, becoming the only tackle nationally with such a distinction. He allowed just three quarterback pressures on 372 pass-blocking snaps for a 96.4 overall grade, and is on track to break the single-season record set last year by Outland Trophy winner (and Desert Hills product) Penei Sewell.

Charged with protecting Zach Wilson's blind side, Christensen and the offensive line paved the way to the No. 4 scoring team in the nation, 43.5 points per game, and No. 7 total offense (522.2 ypg).

One of three semifinalists for the Lou Groza collegiate placekicker of the year award, Oldroyd was a perfect 13-for-13 on field goals, the most by any FBS kicker without a miss in 2020. That includes three kicks of 50 yards or more, the most in a perfect season in the FBS since 2004.

Also Monday, former BYU quarterback Steve Sarkisian was named the winner of the Frank Broyles Award, given to the top assistant coach in college football since 1996, by the Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation.

The Alabama offensive coordinator was selected over a five-person list of finalists that included Grimes. The third-year Cougar offensive coordinator took over an offense that ranked 123rd in scoring offense and 118th in total offense, and drove them to the top-10 in every major offensive metric.

The 2020 AP All-America team



Quarterback — Mac Jones, junior, Alabama.

Running backs — Najee Harris, senior, Alabama; Breece Hall, sophomore, Iowa State.

Tackles — Brady Christensen, junior, BYU; Alex Leatherwood, senior, Alabama.

Guards — Aaron Banks, senior, Notre Dame; Wyatt Davis, junior, Ohio State.

Center — Landon Dickerson, senior, Alabama.

Tight end — Kyle Pitts, junior, Florida.

Receivers — DeVonta Smith, senior, Alabama; Elijah Moore, junior, Mississippi.

All-purpose player — Travis Etienne, senior, Clemson.

Kicker — Jose Borregales, senior, Miami.


Ends — Rashad Weaver, senior, Pitt; Tarron Jackson, senior, Coastal Carolina.

Tackles — Daviyon Nixon, junior, Iowa; Darius Stills, senior, West Virginia.

Linebackers — Zaven Collins, junior, Tulsa; Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, senior, Notre Dame; Joseph Ossai, junior, Texas.

Cornerbacks — Patrick Surtain II, junior, Alabama; Shaun Wade, senior, Ohio State.

Safeties — Talanoa Hufanga, junior, Southern California; Brandon Joseph, redshirt freshman, Northwestern.

Punter — Pressley Harvin III, senior, Georgia Tech.



Quarterback — Kyle Trask, senior, Florida.

Running backs — Jaret Patterson, junior, Buffalo; Javonte Williams, junior, North Carolina.

Tackles — Liam Eichenberg, senior, Notre Dame; Christian Darrisaw, junior, Virginia Tech.

Guards — Cain Madden, junior, Marshall; Kenyon Green, sophomore, Texas A&M.

Center — Tyler Linderbaum, sophomore, Iowa.

Tight end — Hunter Long, junior, Boston College.

Receivers — Jaelon Darden, senior, North Texas; Jonathan Adams Jr., senior, Arkansas State.

All-purpose player — Kadarius Toney, senior, Florida.

Kicker — Cade York, sophomore, LSU.


Ends — Jaelen Phillips, senior, Miami; Patrick Jones, senior, Pitt.

Tackles — Alim McNeil, junior, North Carolina State; Haskell Garrett, senior, Ohio State.

Linebackers — Mike Rose, junior, Iowa State; Nik Bonitto, sophomore, Oklahoma; Nick Bolton, junior, Missouri.

Cornerbacks —Tre'Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, sophomore, TCU; Ahmad Gardner, sophomore, Cincinnati.

Safeties — Trevon Moehrig, junior, TCU; James Wiggins, senior, Cincinnati.

Punter — Lou Hedley, junior, Miami.



Quarterback — Trevor Lawrence, junior, Clemson.

Running backs — Michael Carter, senior, North Carolina; Mohamed Ibrahim, junior, Minnesota.

Tackles — Darian Kinnard, junior, Kentucky; Samuel Cosmi, junior, Texas.

Guards — Ben Cleveland, senior, Georgia; Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame.

Center — Creed Humphrey, junior, Oklahoma.

Tight end — Charlie Kolar, junior, Iowa State.

Receivers — Dyami Brown, junior, North Carolina; Ty Fryfogle, senior, Indiana.

All-purpose player — Avery Williams, senior, Boise State.

Kicker — Jake Oldroyd, sophomore, BYU.


Ends — JaQuan Bailey, senior, Iowa State; Kayvon Thibodeaux, sophomore, Oregon.

Tackles — Christian Barmore, sophomore, Alabama; C.J. Brewer, senior, Coastal Carolina.

Linebackers — Zion Tupuola-Fetui, junior, Washington; Micah McFadden, junior, Indiana; Dylan Moses, senior, Alabama.

Cornerbacks — Greg Newsome, junior, Northwestern; Eli Ricks, freshman, LSU.

Safeties — Kyle Hamilton, sophomore, Notre Dame; Tykee Smith, sophomore, West Virginia.

Punter — Jake Camarda, junior, Georgia.

Contributing: The Associated Press


Related Links

Related Stories


Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast