Deseret News Archives

Vernal Utah Temple, 13 additional temples to begin limited reopening following coronavirus

By Katie Workman, | Posted - May 25, 2020 at 2:23 p.m.

SALT LAKE CITY — On Memorial Day, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced 14 additional temples will reopen on a limited basis, including locations in the U.S., Europe, Australia, and Asia.

The Vernal Utah Temple, Nauvoo Illinois Temple, Sydney Australia Temple and Fukuoka Japan Temple, among others, will be available on June 1st for scheduled temple sealings for previously-endowed couples. Scheduled sealings are part of the church's phase one in their four-part reopening process.

Marriage appointments amid the first phase must include minimal staff, and have a limited number of guests who are free of COVID-19 symptoms.

The second phase will extend to all living ordinances with an appointment, while the third will include proxy ordinances with some restrictions. The fourth and final phase will allow temples to resume regular functionality.

On March 25, the church announced it had closed all of its temples in an effort to combat the spread of the coronavirus pandemic.

The following 14 locations have been added to phase one, bringing the total of reopened temples up to 66.

  • Vernal Utah Temple
  • Nauvoo Illinois Temple
  • Albuquerque New Mexico Temple
  • Baton Rouge Louisiana Temple
  • Raleigh North Carolina Temple
  • San Antonio Texas Temple
  • St. Louis Missouri Temple
  • Calgary Alberta Temple
  • Fukuoka Japan Temple
  • Melbourne Australia Temple
  • Perth Australia Temple
  • Adelaide Australia Temple
  • Sydney Australia Temple
  • The Hague Netherlands Temple

Editor's Note: Deseret Digital Media, Inc., the operator of, is a subsidiary of Deseret Management Corporation, which is owned by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Related Stories

Katie Workman

KSL Weather Forecast