Almanaar survives foul claim to win Monmouth Stakes


Save Story

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

OCEANPORT, N.J. (AP) — Almanaar survived a claim of foul to win the $205,000 Monmouth Stakes on Saturday.

Almanaar drifted into the path of runner up Synchrony in the stretch, and jockey Trevor McCarthy lodged an objection. After a video review, the stewards ruled the action did not warrant a disqualification.

"My horse, he definitely drifted out," said Joe Bravo, Almanaar's rider. "He was just playing."

A 7-year-old gelding bred in England, Almanaar got his seventh victory in 20 starts, and second U.S. stakes win following the 2017 Gulfstream Park Turf Handicap.

He prevailed by a neck in 1:45.75 for the 1 1/8 miles on the firm turf course.

It was second stakes win on the card for the team of Bravo and trainer Chad Brown. They earlier took the $75,000 Boiling Springs with Beautiful Lover ($4.60).

Almanaar, the 2-1 second choice, paid $6.80. $3.80 and $3. Synchrony, the 9-5 favorite, returned $3.80 and $2.60.

Force the Pass paid $9.40 to show.

The Monmouth Stakes is the prep for top grass race of the meet, the Grade 1 United Nations Stakes on June 22.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

National Sports
The Associated Press

    ARE YOU GAME?

    From first downs to buzzer beaters, get KSL.com’s top sports stories delivered to your inbox weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast