France's Macron wins prestigious German European unity prize

France's Macron wins prestigious German European unity prize

1 photo

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

BERLIN (AP) — French President Emmanuel Macron has been awarded a prestigious German prize for contributions to European unity in recognition of his "vision of a new Europe."

The International Charlemagne Prize is awarded annually by the city of Aachen, near the Belgian and Dutch borders. Previous winners include former U.S. President Bill Clinton and Popes Francis and John Paul II.

Friday's citation pointed to Macron's "vision of a new Europe and of the re-establishment of the European project, of a new European sovereignty and a close, restructured cooperation between peoples and nations." It said Macron's election in May "proved once again that Europe is indeed capable of generating enthusiasm."

The prize ceremony is held in May in Aachen, from where the Holy Roman emperor Charlemagne once ruled a swath of western Europe.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Most recent World stories

Related topics

The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast