Sports / Other Sports / 

Ricky Taylor closes out 2nd huge win of SportsCar season

By The Associated Press | Posted - Mar. 18, 2017 at 9:22 p.m.

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SEBRING, Fla. (AP) — Ricky Taylor closed out yet another huge win for Wayne Taylor Racing by guiding the team to its first victory in the Twelve Hours of Sebring.

Taylor also was the closing driver two months ago as the team won the IMSA SportsCar championship season-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona. The lineup Saturday included Taylor's younger brother, Jordan, and British driver Alexander Lynn.

"Any of the guys could have done it," Ricky Taylor said of his closing stint . He credited a pass his brother made on Filipe Albuquerque as the move of the race, and said Lynn was flawless. "Either of them could have done the job."

The victory for the Taylors comes 21 years after father, Wayne, opened the season with wins at Daytona and Sebring. Now Wayne Taylor is celebrating as a team owner as his sons give the new Cadillac Dpi program its second win in two races.

"My dad has been telling us for years that he's the only one to win this race," said Jordan Taylor. "We've come close before, but this is just a great way to start the year."

Jordan Taylor also matched his father with wins at Daytona, Le Mans (class) and Sebring.

The Taylor brothers now have 16 major American sports car victories, but it was the first win in the first start for Lynn.

"My goal was to get through my stints and at the end, give Ricky and Jordan the best chance to win the race," Lynn said.

Cadillac finished 1-2-3 as Action Express Racing finished second and third.

Antonio Garcia led Corvette Racing to the victory in the GT Le Mans Class that denied Chip Ganassi Racing another win. The Ganassi Ford team won Sebring last year, followed it with a class victory at Le Mans and then opened the season in victory lane at Daytona.

Riley Motorsports won the GT Daytona class with Team AMG Mercedes, and Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA won the PC class.


More AP auto racing:

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast