Favre heads up HOF class...Apparent blast near cycling finish line in Rio...Long lines at Rio venues

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

CANTON, Ohio (AP) — Brett Favre (FAHRV) heads up a list of eight who will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame today. The three-time NFL MVP was selected in his first year of eligibility. Among those joining Farve in the class of 2016 are Super Bowl-winning coach Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison, Kevin Greene, Orlando Pace and former 49ers owner Eddie DiBartolo Jr.

RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) — A bomb squad is investigating after an apparent blast shook the area near the finish line of the men's cycling road race at the Olympics. An officer assigned to the event said it was a controlled explosion of an unattended bag. He did not give his name because he was not authorized to speak.

RIO DE JANIERO (AP) — Some problems have popped up on the first full day of competition at the Rio Olympics. Organizing committee spokesman Mario Andrada has apologized for long lines to get into Olympic venues and has asked authorities to speed up bag checks. Andrada also said organizers would check if drivers had sufficient training after reports of official buses getting lost.

RIO DE JANIERO (AP) — Spectators leaving the opening ceremony of the Olympics were confronted by the body of a man shot dead near Maracana (mar-ah-kah-NAH') Stadium. Eyewitnesses said that blood poured from the body onto the road as medics tended to the man next to an ambulance. A spokesman for the organizing committee says he has no information on a shooting near the stadium.

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (AP) — Carl Edwards has won the pole for tomorrow's Sprint Cup race at Watkins Glen. Edwards also was the pole-sitter in June at NASCAR's other road course in Sonoma. Kyle Larson qualified second, followed by five-time Watkins Glen winner Tony Stewart. Matt Kenseth and Kyle Busch round out the top five.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent National Sports stories

Related topics

National Sports
The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from KSL.com, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to KSL.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast