Sports / 

MWC All-Decade Team

Estimated read time: 1-2 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

the 10th Anniversary Team selections have been announced.


From the Mountain West Conference, at Media Days in Las Vegas:

LAS VEGAS - The Mountain West Conference announces its 10th Anniversary Football Team, as selected by a combined panel of media, institutional and conference personnel and on-line fan poll. In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been a first team all-Mountain West selection at least once in their careers.


Mountain West Football 10th Anniversary Team



Alex Smith, Utah

Running Backs:

Luke Staley, BYU

DonTrell Moore, UNM

Wide Receivers:

David Anderson, CSU

Jovon Bouknight, Wyoming

Tight End:

Jonny Harline, BYU

Offensive Line:

Ryan Cook, UNM

Doug Kaufusi, Utah

Jordan Gross, Utah

Erik Pears, CSU

Adam Goldberg, Wyoming

Place Kicker:

John Sullivan, UNM



Defensive Line:

Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila, SDSU

Chase Ortiz, TCU

Brady Poppinga, BYU

Steve Fifita, Utah


Rob Morris, BYU

Kirk Morrison, SDSU

Beau Bell, UNLV

Defensive Back:

Brian Urlacher, UNM

Eric Weddle, Utah

Jamaal Brimmer, UNLV

Will Demps, SDSU


Matt Payne, BYU

Punt/Kick Returner:

Dexter Wynn, CSU


No serious complaints or obvious omissions on first glance, and while I did not save my ballot, most of the players I picked showed up in the list above.

I'm sure Air Force football fans are taking umbrage with the fact the Falcons were the only team shut out of the all-decade team--the other eight conference teams were all represented, led by BYU and Utah, with 5 picks apiece.


Most recent Sports stories


Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast