Finalists named for University of Toledo president

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

TOLEDO, Ohio (AP) — A search committee for the University of Toledo has released the names of three finalists vying to become the school's next president.

They are Sharon Gaber, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Arkansas; Michele Wheatly, senior adviser to the president of West Virginia University and Christopher Howard, president of Hampden-Sydney College in Virginia.

All three will go through a final round of interviews on the Toledo campus.

Former Toledo president Lloyd Jacobs stepped down in June after eight years as president. He left to work with a global economic development organization based in Washington.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most recent U.S. stories

Related topics

The Associated Press


    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast