News / 

Photos courtesy of Action Sports Photography

Creten Continues Dominating Weekend at Rocky Mountain Raceways Maverik Clash of the Titans XVIII

By Rocky Mountain Raceways | Posted - Aug 11th, 2014 @ 7:58pm

WEST VALLEY CITY - Jimmy Creten, in the Yellow Bounty Hunter, proved his monster truck prowess by sweeping Rocky Mountain Raceways' Maverik Clash of the Titans event, claiming both nights of racing along with the wheelie contest and the freestyle contest. In a rematch from Saturday's final round, Creten again took the win over Darron Schnell in the Vi-Cor BIGFOOT.

RMR Oval Racing included the Maverik Modifieds and the U Burn Em' We Build Em' Transmission Mini Cups. In the Maverik Modifieds, Rocky Mountain Raceways' feature division, Eric Rhead scored his first Modified career win. Barry Egolf started the race out front but James Larsen gained the lead by lap 10. As Larsen approached lap traffic, Nick Parker was able to pass him on the inside. Larsen maintained a strong presence at the front of the field, but was never able to make a pass stick. By lap 33 of the 50-lap main, Larsen and Rhead began a side-by-side battle for second down the back stretch. Rhead successfully made the pass on the next lap and led the field for the remainder of the green, white, checkered race. Parker finished in second, Larsen in third, Lynn Hardy in fourth, and Mark Ith Jr rounded out the top five.

Rhead, the defending the Comcast Super Stock Champion, marks the fifth winner of the five completed Maverik Modified races this season. Nick Parker won the season opener on May 3. Mark Ith Jr. won on May 31, Tyler Whetstone won on June 21, and Lynn Hardy claimed the checkered flag on July 5.

Racing will continue on Saturday, August 16 with Western States Equipment Figure-8 Trains, Double Deckers, Maverik Modifieds, Hornets, and Jr. Stingers.

Rocky Mountain Raceways
Entering its 18th season of racing, Rocky Mountain Raceways includes a short-track oval, quarter-mile drag strip, and a motocross park. For more information about Rocky Mountain Raceways' schedule of events, please visit


Fast Qualifier: #4 Lynn Hardy, 15.799
Heat Race A: 1.) #97 James Larsen, 2.) #4 Lynn Hardy, 3.) #30 Nick Parker, 4.) #20 Dan McCoy, 5.) #2 Harley Mayo, 6.) #48 Al Jones, 7.) #12 Rodney Park
Heat Race B: 1.) #84 Mark Ith Jr., 2.) #66 Eric Rhead, 3.) #18 Johnny Luttmer, 4.) #00 Tyler Whetstone, 5.) #43 Abe Carter, 6.) #17 Barry Egolf, 7.) #41 Michael Haddenham, 8.) #211 Jeff Longman
Main Event-50 Laps: 1.) #66 Eric Rhead, 2.) #30 Nick Parker, 3.) #97 James Larsen, 4.) #4 Lynn Hardy, 5.) #84 Mark Ith Jr., 6.) #00 Tyler Whetstone, 7.) #43 Abe Carter, 8.) #20 Dan McCoy, 9.) #18 Johnny Luttmer, 10.) #41 Michael Haddenham, 11.) #17 Barry Egolf, 12.)#2 Harley Mayo, 13.) #48 Al Jones, 14.) #211 Jeff Longman, 15.) #12 Rodney Park

Fast Qualifier:
#88 Kevin Neff, 19.406
Heat Race: 1.) #88 Kevin Neff, 2.) #16 Donny Sevey, 3.) #84 Skylar Sevey, 4.) #33 Levi Rider, 5.) #3 Tracy Rider, 6.) #53 Isaiah Lovendahl, 7.) #58 Zach Nielsen, 8.) #42 Dylan Sevey, 9.) #38 Karen Yakovich, 10.) #1 Sami Lovendahl, 11.) #15 Kylie Streeter
Main Event-20 Laps: 1.) #16 Donny Sevey, 2.) #88 Kevin Neff, 3.) #33 Levi Rider, 4.) #3 Tracy Rider, 5.) #1 Sami Lovendahl, 6.) #58 Zach Nielsen, 7.) #53 Isaiah Lovendahl, 8.) #38 Karen Yakovich, 9.) #84 Skylar Sevey, 10.) #42 Dylan Sevey, 11.) #15 Kylie Streeter

Rocky Mountain Raceways

    KSL Weather Forecast