News / Utah / 

State of Utah Declared Disaster Area

State of Utah Declared Disaster Area

Estimated read time: Less than a minute

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

(KSL News) This afternoon all 29 counties in Utah were declared disaster areas because of wildfires and drought.

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns made that designation, qualifying farmers and ranchers for low-interest loans.

Twenty-four counties are considered "primary natural disaster areas." The state's remaining five counties: Daggett, Grand, Sevier, Wayne and Wasatch have been declared contiguous disaster areas All farmers are now eligible to apply to the USDA Farm Service Agency for emergency loans.

Most recent Utah stories

Related topics



Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast