Sports / 

Michael Hale takes first maverik modified win of 2011 season

Posted - May 9, 2011 at 1:23 a.m.

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

WEST VALLEY CITY - Championed Maverik Modified racer, #01Michael Hale took the first win of the 2011 Maverik Modified Season at Rocky Mountain Raceways; an ASA Member Track, in West Valley City, Utah.

Hale secured his first place finish in the forty-fifth lap of the fifty lap main; followed closely by #41 Michael Haddenham in second and #10 Jason Aposhian in third. Hale also established the new spec-engine Maverik Modified track record during qualifying; running a 15.777.

The Carbon X Rocky Mountain Challenge Series showed Utah fans a close race during the seventy-five lap main event. RMR Champion and hometown-hero #4 Lynn Hardy, #81 Thane Alderman, #84 Zan Sharp and #03 Steve Jones dominated the field and had fans on the edge of their seats as they ran for the checkered flag. Hardy led the majority of the race until a yellow-caution flag gave Jones the opportunity to take the lead and go on to win the race. Jones, out of Boise, Idaho, secured two wins last year at Rocky Mountain Raceways and is the 2010 Carbon X Rocky Mountain Challenge Series defending champion.

Tonight's winners included: #01 Michael Hale (Maverik Modifieds,) #03 Steve Jones (Carbon X RMCS Late Models,) #9 Kori Combs (Mini Cups,) #87 Michael Daniels (Ford Focus Midgets) and Bo Sharp (Pro Race Trucks.)

ASA Weekly Racing will continue on Saturday, May 14 with the USAC/SLVRA YAG Sprints, Maverik Modifieds, Hornets, Figure-8 Cars and Western States Equipment Figure-8 Trains.


Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast