MWC Announces 2007 Preseason All-Conference Team

MWC Announces 2007 Preseason All-Conference Team

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

LAS VEGAS - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2007 preseason all-conference team today as selected by members of the league's media. Aaron Brown (TCU) was named Preseason MWC Offensive Player of the Year, Tommy Blake (TCU) was selected Preseason MWC Defensive Player of the Year, Louie Sakoda (Utah) was chosen Preseason MWC Special Teams Player of the Year and Ricky Brewer (Colorado State) was tabbed Preseason MWC Freshman of the Year.

Brown, a second-team all-MWC honoree last season and the 2005 MWC Freshman of the Year, rushed for 801 yards and a league-high nine touchdowns in 2006. Blake, a 2007 preseason All-American, was a first-team all-MWC selection on the defensive line a year ago after collecting 54 tackles while leading the league with 16.5 tackles for loss and seven sacks in 13 games played. Sakoda was a perfect 43-for-43 in point-after attempts last season and also ranked third in the league in field goal percentage while leading Utah in scoring with 91 points. Brewer was a first-team all-state selection after leading the state of Colorado with 156 tackles his senior year.

TCU led all schools with seven student-athletes selected to the preseason all-Conference team. BYU and Utah each had four players selected, followed by New Mexico and Wyoming with three apiece. Colorado State and UNLV each had two players chosen, while Air Force had one.

The 2007 preseason team features 16 players that were all-Conference selections in 2006, including eight first-team honorees.

2007 Preseason All-Mountain West Team

Offense - Travis Brown (WR, New Mexico), Ryan Wolfe (WR, UNLV), Sete Aulai (OL, BYU), Dallas Reynolds (OL, BYU), Matty Lindner (OL, TCU), Jason Boone (OL, Utah), Wade Betschart (OL, Wyoming), Brian Johnson (QB, Utah), Rodney Ferguson (RB, New Mexico), Aaron Brown (RB, TCU).

Defense - Jesse Nading (DL, Colorado State), Tommy Blake (DL, TCU), Chase Ortiz (DL, TCU), Beau Bell (DL/LB, UNLV), Ward Dobbs (DL/LB, Wyoming), Drew Fowler (LB, Air Force), Bryan Kehl (LB, BYU), Jason Phillips (LB, TCU), Quinn Gooch (DB, BYU), DeAndre Wright (DB, New Mexico), Brian Bonner (DB, TCU), Julius Stinson (DB, Wyoming).

Specialists - Jim Kaylor (P, Colorado State), Louie Sakoda (PK, Utah), Brian Bonner (Ret., TCU)

Most recent Sports stories

Related topics



Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast